From “The Phantom Prince”

One night several years ago, Ted left my place to go home and study, but a little while later I heard someone coming up the front stairs quietly, as if trying not to be heard. I stepped out into the hallway and it was Ted. He had an odd look on his face and he was retrieving a crowbar that had been under the radiator in the hall. The pockets of his coat were bulging, and on an impulse, I reached into a pocket to see what was in there. He backed away quickly, but I had pulled out a surgical glove.

Leave a Reply

